Waldsee Blog

Welcome to the blog for Waldsee, the German Language Village. To view photos from our summer sessions, please visit our Flickr page.

Subscribe here to receive new blog posts directly to your inbox.



Waldsee Teacher-in-Residence Volunteer Program 2010

Published: October 3, 2009

Join us at Waldsee the summer of 2010 for a teacher volunteer week opportunity: Monday July 19 -- Saturday July 24, 2010 Monday, August 2 -- Saturday, August 7, 2010 Monday July 26 -- Saturday July 31, 2010 Monday, August 9—Saturday, August 14, 2010 Dear colleague, Waldsee German Language Village, the German immersion program of Concordia Language Villages, is offering opportunities to teachers to join in the fun and excitement of Waldsee while keeping your German fresh with...

Waldsee Staff Alumni Volunteer Program 2010

Published: October 3, 2009

Former Staff! Join us at Waldsee the summer of 2010 for a volunteer week opportunity: Monday, June 21 – Saturday, June 26, 2010 Monday, June 28 – Saturday, July 3, 2010 Monday, July 5 – Saturday, July 10, 2010 Monday, July 12 – Saturday, July 17, 2010 Monday July 19 -- Saturday July 24, 2010 Monday July 26 -- Saturday July 31, 2010 Monday, August 2 -- Saturday, August 7, 2010 Monday, August 9—Saturday, August 14, 2010 Monday, August 16 – Saturday, August 21 Monday,...

Celebrating Leo!

Published: August 28, 2009

This summer we are celebrating Leo’s fifth summer as a staff member at Waldsee. Leo hails from Cameroon, Africa, where he is a teacher of German and French. For the past five summers he has made the long trek from Africa to Waldsee and to Lac du Bois, where he has enriched our program as a credit teacher and a senior staff member both for regular participants and our adult family week participants. At Waldsee Leo has been famous for his Wetterbericht, his skills at Fussball, his...

Earning Merit Badges auf Deutsch!

Published: August 28, 2009

Magnus aus Waldsee is also a Boy Scout working on his merit badges. While at Waldsee this summer he decided to earn the Boy Scout Interpreter merit badge. Boys and adults may wear this strip if they show their knowledge of a foreign language or the sign language for the hearing impaired by: 1.  Carrying on a five-minute conversation in this language. 2.  Translating a two-minute speech or address. 3.  Writing a letter in the language (does not apply for sign language). 4....

Fasnacht in Basel

Published: August 28, 2009

On Wednesday, August 26 Waldsee and Lac du Bois celebrated Swiss carnival known as Fasnacht. Delicious food included Döner Kepab, Krapfen, Bratwurst und Bretzeln, and costumed villagers and families enjoyed a variety of party games before dancing the night away in German, French and Italian! Hoch Schwyz!

  • 99 of 111